ISA Nagpur City Branch held CME on Renal & Liver transplant Anaesthesia

Indian Society of Anaesthesiology Nagpur City Branch conducted CME on Renal & Liver Transplant anaesthesia in association with Department of Anaesthesiology, NKPSIMS, Nagpur on 5th October 2014. Dr Dilip Gode, Vice-Chancellor, Deemed University, Sawangi was Chief Guest. Dr B.G. Bande, Governing Council member of National Headquarter of ISA was Guest of Honor. Dr S. Dasgupta, Patron & Dean, NKPSIMS, Nagpur also graced the occasion. Dr Narendra Tamhane, President along with Dr Saurabh Barde, Honorary Secretary of ISA Nagpur, Dr Anjali Bhure, Professor & Head, Dept of anaesthesiology, NKPSIMS, Nagpur and Dr Charuta Gadkari, Program Director shared the dias with the dignitaries.
Dr Anjali Bhure welcomed all. Dr Gode stressed on the need to uplift facility and expertise so that liver transplant facility in the region could be started. Dr Bande praised the ISA Nagpur City Branch for holding excellent activities and also congratulated for being best branch in India on multiple occasions.
On this occasion, fifth edition of e-Sense – the e-newsletter of ISA Nagpur City Branch was launched at the hands of Dr Bande. This edition dealt with Chronic Kidney Disease. Dr Shivnarayan Acharya, Dr Ashwinikumar Khandekar (both kidney transplant physicians of the city) and Dr Saurabh Barde contributed articles for e-Sense. Dr Narendra Tamhane felicitated the authors.
Dr B M Rajurkar, Consultant Anaesthesiologist and Director, GetWell Hospital, Nagpur spoke on “Preoperative Concerns in Renal transplant”. Dr B D Bande, Consultant Anaesthesiologist, KEM Hospital, Pune, covered “Anaesthetic Considerations of Renal Transplant”. Dr Rajesh Tope, Consultant Anaesthesiologist, Indraprastha Apollo Hospital, New Delhi, deliberated on “Anaesthesia Considerations for Liver Transplant”. Transplant surgeon from KEM Hospital, Pune, Dr Suresh Bhalerao discussed “Important Surgical Aspects of Renal and Liver transplant”.
Panel discussion on “Postoperative Care of Renal Transplant Patient” was moderated by Dr Kiran Vyawhare, Consultant Anaesthesiologist, Wockhardt Hospital, Nagpur and Dr Rajurkar and Dr Shivnarayan Acharya, renowned nephrologist of the city and Dr Nirmal Jaiswal, renowned intensivist participated in addition to all the faculty members.
The sessions were chaired by Dr Naresh Tirpude, Prof and HOD, Department of Anaesthesiology, GMC, Nagpur, Dr Suhas Salpekar, Consultant Urologist, Nagpur, Dr S K Deshpande, Consultant Cardiac Anaesthesiologist, Nagpur , Dr Anjali Bhure, Dr Aruna Chandak, Prof and HOD, Dept of Anaesthesiology, JNMC, Sawangi, Dr Sanjay Kolte, Transplant Surgeon from Nagpur, Dr Rashmi Deshpande, Prof Emeritus, Anaesthesiology, JNMC, Sawangi, Dr Sandhya Manjrekar, Prof and HOD, Dept of Anaesthesiology, IGGMC, Nagpur, Dr Vinay Kulkarni, Consultant Anaesthesiologist Nagpur and Dr M A Akhtar, Prof and HOD, Dept of Surgery, NKPSIMS .
The CME was well attended by anaesthesiologists of the city. Dr Gunjan Badwaik and Dr Supriya Palsodkar conducted the program. Dr Charuta Gadkari proposed vote of thanks. Dr Vikram Alsi, Dr Kamlakar Pawar, Dr Alkesh Soni and Dr Devayani Deshpande took efforts to make event successful.
Dr Naresh Tirpude and Dr Charuta Gadkari were the MMC observers for this CME. MMC granted 2 credit points to this CME.