CME on Regional Anaesthesia Beyond Comfort Zone

Indian Society of Anaesthesiologista – Nagpur City Branch conducted one day CME on Regional Anaesthesia Beyond Comfort Zone on Sunday, 16th November 2014. Dr Narendra Tamhane, President of ISA – Nagpur City Branch welcomed all and said that few regional anaesthesia techniques which may not be routinely performed could be extremely useful in certain high risk patients undergoing surgical procedure. The aim of the CME was to acquaint the anaesthesiologists with such techniques.

The faculty for the CME included stalwarts in the field of regional anaesthesia like Dr Sandeep Diwan from Miraj, Dr Vrushali Ponde from Mumbai and Dr R. Silamban from Chennai. The program was inaugurated with lighting of samai by the guest faculty along with Dr Tamhane & Dr Saurabh Barde, Honorary Secretary of ISA Nagpur and Organsing Secretary of the CME.

The CME included debate, lectures and Video demonstrations of various techniques and Panel discussion. The topic for the debate was ‘Spinal Anaesthesia for Breast Surgery’. Dr Nitin Kotwal, from Gondiya spoke for the topic and Dr Vikram Alsi from Nagpur spoke against the topic. The session was chaired by Dr Sandeep Diwan. The interaction was enjoyed by one and all.

Dr Sandeep Diwan spoke on Superficial and Deep cervical plexus blocks and was chaired by Dr Manda Nagrale and Dr Anjali Kolhe. He also discussed about paravertebral and Lumbar plexus blocks for lower limb surgeries. This session was chaired by Dr A.V. Joshi and Dr A. R, Mashankar.

Dr Silamban spoke on higher epidurals for thoracic and abdominal surgeries and the session was chaired by Dr S.K. Deshpande and Dr Sucheta Tidke. Dr Vrushali Ponde deliberated on pediatric regional anesthesia in everyday practice and the session was chaired by Dr Tirpude and Dr Soma Cham.

Final session included the Panel Discussion on Controversies in Regional anaesthesia. It was moderated by Dr Sheetal Dalal and Dr Gauri Arora. The panelists included Dr Sadeep Diwan, Dr Vrushali Ponde, Dr R. Silamban and Dr C.S. Cham.

Dr Rashmi Shingade conducted the program. Dr N.G. Tirpude was MMC observer for the CME. MMC had granted TWO credit points to the CME. Total 167 delegates from Nagpur and nearing areas of Vidarbha region participated in the CME.

The program ended with National Anthem.