ISA Nagpur City Branch holds Annual Day Program


Indian Society of Anaesthesiologists – Nagpur City Branch held Annual Day Program on 17th January 2015. The program included awards distribution, felicitation of members and Dr E G Tambe Annual Oration.

Dr C. D. Mayee, renowned agricultural scientist and Ex Vice-Chancellor of Marathwada Agricultural University was Chief Guest for the occasion and Dr Hemangi Karnik, Professor and Incharge, Neuroanaesthesia department of LTM medical college, Sion, Mumbai was Guest of Honor.

Dr Narendra Tamhane, President of ISA – Nagpur City Branch welcomed the gathering. The prizes were distributed at the hands of chief guest. Dr Surabhi Lande received Dr R.K. Pradhan memorial award and Dr Seema Bansal was awarded with Dr Lalla-Cham award for securing highest marks in the MD and Diploma examinations respectively in the region. Dr Nupur Bhangale, a post graduate student from NKPSIMS, Nagpur bagged Rev B N Sahay memorial award and Dr Shrirao’s award for winning paper presentation competition. Dr Manish Pawar from IGGMC, Nagpur received Dr S.K. Deshpande award for being runner up in paper presentation competition. Dr Gauri Arora and Dr Vrushali Ankalwar won first and second prize respectively in Vaishali Malegaonkar memorial Interesting case presentation competition. Prestige nursing home most active member award was given to Dr N G Tirpude while Dr S K Deshpande received Shrimati Sushila Sathe memorial award.

The highlight of the program was Mrs Kamlatai Deshpande Memorial Life Time Achievement award which was conferred on Dr (Mrs) Ranjana Deshmukh for her exceptional contribution towards anaesthesiology fraternity. Dr Deshmukh is retired Professor and Head of the department of anaesthesiology and past president of ISA Nagpur city branch. She is avid lover and teacher of yoga. Prominently present to witness the felicitation of Dr Deshmukh were her family members including Dr Y S Deshpande (Past President IMA Nagpur), her friends and near & dear ones.

The Annual Day program also included prestigious Dr E G Tambe annual oration which was delivered by Dr Hemangi Karnik. She spoke on Anaesthetic management of patients with pre-existing stroke in which she covered various aspects of stroke and anaesthesia related issues. Dr Anjali Sawargaonkar and Dr Surekha Pophali chaired the session.

Dr Sheetal Dalal and Dr Archana Munishwar conducted the program. Dr Vikram Alsi, Dr Manisha Shembekar, Dr Devayani Thakur, Dr Deepali Mandlik and other members of executive team worked hard for success of the program. The program was attended by large number of ISA NCB members.

Dr Saurabh Barde, Honorary Secretary of ISA – Nagpur City branch proposed formal vote of thanks. The program ended with national anthem.

Life Time Achievement award being conferred on Dr (Mrs) Ranjana Deshmukh by Dr Mayee. Dr Narendra Tamhane, Dr Saurabh Barde, Dr S K Deshpande and Dr Vikram Alsi look on.