1st Maharashtra State Biennial CME – 2013

ISA – Nagpur City Branch hosted 1st ISA Maharashtra State Biennial CME – 2013 on 23rd and 24th November 2013 at J.R. Shaw auditorium, IMA House, Nagpur. Maharashtra Medical Council had granted FOUR credit points for this CME. Total 376 delegates from all over Maharashtra attended the CME. The theme for the CME was – “Let’s Share…Knowledge & Experience”.

The Inauguration of CME was done at the hands of Dr Rani Bang, Social activist and founder of NGO – SEARCH, Gadchiroli. In her address, Dr Rani Bang emphasized the urgent need of anaesthesiologists in rural areas. She also requested the anaesthesiology society to take efforts to remove shortage of anaesthesiologists in rural areas. Dr Deepak Tempe, Dean MAMC, New Delhi was Guest of honor. Dr Charuta Gadkari, President of ISA – Nagpur City Branch and Organising Chairperson of the CME welcomed all. President of Maharashtra State Chapter of ISA, Dr Satish Deshpande delivered President’s address. At this occasion, State Newsletter – MISANEWS was released at the hands of Chief Guest, Dr Rani Bang. Dr Shubhada Deshmukh, Chairperson of the Scientific Committee and her team took great efforts to make very good scientific program. E – Souvenir of the CME was released at the hands of Guest of Honor, Dr Deepak Tempe. Dr Saurabh Barde, Hon Secretary of ISA – Nagpur City Branch and Organising Secretary of the CME proposed vote of thanks.

ISA – Nagpur City Branch sponsored ‘Late Dr R.K. Pradhan Memorial Oration’ was introduced in the CME. The first oration was delivered by Dr Deepak Tempe, Dean, MAMC, New Delhi and prestigious B.C. Roy award winner. The topic for oration was ‘Introduction to TEE’. The scientific program also consisted of didactic lectures by eminent faculties, Case Based Learning session on ‘Septic patient requiring Surgery’ by Dr Vijaya Patil, Panel discussion on ‘Controversies in Obstetric Anaesthesia’ moderated by Dr Ketan Parikh and debate session. For post graduate students in anaesthesiology, session on paper and poster presentations was also conducted at the CME.

The faculties other than abovementioned names for CME constituted Dr Indrani Hemantkumar, Dr Kalpana Kelkar, Dr B.D. Bande, Dr Pratibha Kane, Dr Satish Deshpande, Dr Balaji Asegaonkar, Dr C.S. Cham, Dr Pratibha Deshmukh, Dr Ashok Deshpande, Dr Naresh Tirpude, Dr Sawargaonkar, Dr Atul Kulkarni, Dr Vandana Agrawal, Dr Sadhana Kulkarni, Dr Akhilesh Sangawar, Dr Nilima Gandhe, Dr Kshama Valsangkar, Dr Hitendra Mahajan, Dr Shakil Momin, Dr Vidyanand Chavan, Dr Chandrashekhar Khairnar, Dr Archan Deshpande, Dr Abhiruchi Patki, Dr Rajendra Sonone, Dr Sudha Jain, Dr Sandeep Diwan, Dr Nandini Dawe, Dr Sandeep Mutha and Dr S.K. Deshpande.

The proceedings also included meeting of Office Bearers and Governing Council members in the M.T. Paithankar hall. Annual General Body Meeting was held in J.R. Shaw Auditorium which was chaired by Dr Satish Deshpande, President MSCISA. Dr Hitendra Mahajan, Hony Secretary of MSCISA conducted the proceedings.

On the 23rd November evening, everybody enjoyed cultural program and musical night. All the singers for the Musical Orchestra were members of ISA – Nagpur City Branch and included Dr Sachin Makade, Dr Gauri Arora, Dr Abhiruchi Patki, Dr Sandeep Meshram, Dr Rashmi Shingade, Dr Mrunalini Ballal, Dr Sachin Sadavarte, Dr Ravi Mundhada, Dr Rohini Deshpande, Dr CS Cham, Dr Smita Harkare and Dr Kiran Vyawhare.

CME concluded with the valedictory function. Most of the office bearers, faculties and delegates expressed satisfaction about venue, scientific program, food, accommodation and overall hospitality. Prizes were given to the winners of debate, paper presentation and poster presentation. Dr Archana Deshpande was winner and Dr Abhiruchi Patki was awarded second prize in debate competition. Organising Secretary Dr Saurabh Barde proposed vote of thanks. The program ended with National Anthem.

The CME got overwhelming response from all the delegates with their active participation and was a grand success. Dr Anil Laddhad was MMC observer for the CME.